Decluttering by brand #2 ~ Kylie Cosmetics, AVON and Soap and Glory

Hey everyone,

This time I am going to be decluttering from my collection of the brands Kylie Cosmetics, AVON and Soap and Glory. I am going to get one of these posts out a week till I run out of brands I own. I decluttered my collection in one go so that is why some things may turn up in empties in the future before they do in these.

Kylie Cosmetics: I knew starting out that this was going to be a brand that I didn’t get rid of a lot from. I really love Kylie’s products, from the shade range to the packaging to the wear time. The only product I am decluttering is the Koko collection matte liquid lipstick in ‘Khol$’. This is a really warm medium nude shade that I just can’t pull off, so this will be going to my best friend since it has only been worn once or twice.

Collection  before decluttering

To use up and not repurchase

To declutter

AVON: This was a more complex brand for me to deal with, mainly because I owned such a wide range of products from them. I chose to declutter 8 items, 1 to use up and not repurchase category and keep 9 items.

I put the matte liquid concealer in the to use up section because it was too drying for my under eyes but I finished it this month so it will now be decluttered. It has a beautiful natural matte finish that if I had oily skin I would probably repurchase this, but unfortunately with my dry skin it doesn’t look that good for long. The Magix powder is only in the to use up category because it is just an okay product, I don’t know if it is because it is a HD powder or what but it isn’t my favourite.

I decluttered the prep + set spray because it was too alcohol smelling and left my skin feeling super tight. The shimmer brick is at least 3 and a half years old and discontinued by the brand. I had a duplicate of the concealer and the used one was getting rather old. The colourtrend lipstick in ‘adorable’ has been discontinued and had a formula I wasn’t impressed with. Finally the shine burst gloss sticks in ‘Nude shine’, ‘Dragon fruit pink’ and ‘Raspberry glaze’ were decluttered as the nude and raspberry shades had glitter in them that made them gritty and the pink shade was just unflattering on me.

The products I decided to keep were a glimmerstick in ‘cosmic brown’, a brow glimmerstick in ‘brunette’, two shine burst lip glosses in ‘Rose splash’ and ‘Berry splash’, two shine burst gloss sticks in ‘Rose’ and ‘Vivid cherry’, a lipstick in ‘Romance’ and a cream concealer. All the products are ones that I really enjoy and will continue to use regularly. My favourite Avon product that I own is probably the shine burst gloss stick in ‘Vivid Cherry’ as it is super hydrating and such as stunning colour, I own nothing else like it and its only £3.50!

 

Soap and Glory: This was probably the easiest brand for me to do, as I am decluttering both of these products.

The palette only included two shades that could be used for the crease and they were both purples which wouldn’t work for the other neutral shades. Most of the shadows were okay quality but some were gritty with fall out and little pigment. Overall I wasn’t impressed, I hung on to this palette till now for three shades out of the ten only.

The mini gloss in the shade ‘Rose and shine’ is half used up and about 2 and a half years old. I am not a fan of the tingly lip glosses either so this was a simple decision for me.

The figures:

After decluttering a total of 10 items in this post (plus 1 empty that will be included in my June empties total), this brings the total number for my empties to 122 and the retail value to £444.90.

That is it for this second decluttering by brand post, I hope you enjoyed it. Please follow me here on my blog and on Instagram, that is also ‘teenbeautylife’. June empties and declutter by brand #3 should be up around the end of next week.

Until the next time,

Lauren x

Leave a Reply

