Eyeliner and Mascara declutter

Hey everyone,

I have been watching lots of declutter videos on YouTube lately, my favourites are those by Jessica Braun as she is so brutal, and since my collection has overflown my storage to the point where it is anxiety provoking I thought it was time. I chose these two categories first because I don’t have an emotional attachment to eyeliners or mascaras so it is easier for me to declutter them.

Eyeliners:

Originally, I had 8 eyeliners in my collection. Which considering I only use black liquid liner regularly seems to be an extreme figure.

Before:

IMG_0463.JPG

Firstly, I went through my liquid liners because these are my favourite type of liner to use. I decided to keep all four of them, and this is why. The Too Faced Sketch Marker eyeliners are my favourites, hands down. The shade in ‘Deep Espresso’ is fairly new and its beautifully rich so that had to stay.

My two black liquid liners: Too Faced Sketch Marker and AVON Glimmerstick liquid eyeliner pen, are both nearly done so I need to keep them until I can replace the sketch marker.Therefore, they will both be going soon and I will only be replacing the Too Faced one. I just prefer the formula and pigmentation of it to the AVON on.

Finally, for liquid liners is the NYX Vivid Brights liner in ‘Vivid Violet’. It has a little brush rather than pen applicator and the colour is stunning. Although I don’t get to wear this often and I do notice that if you apply a thick wing with this, the wing itself can crack a little which is a shame but the regular doesn’t so it doesn’t bother me too much.

Moving on to glimmerstick and kohl kajal form eyeliners. I started with 4 in my collection and decided to only keep 1. I am really happy with the progress I made in this section because I only use these occasionally in my waterline/tightline. I decided to keep the AVON glimmerstick in ‘cosmic brown’, it is so creamy and pigmented and the shade is so rich. I love to put this in the waterline with a bronze smokey eye.

Secondly, I decluttered the AVON glimmerstick brights in ‘boldest black’ because it is really old. However, I always have to have a black liner to put in the waterline. Therefore, I replaced it with the Rimmel Scandaleyes waterproof kohl kajal in ‘001 black’ as I love the formula and pigmentation of these.

The other one I decluttered because it is old is the Rimmel Scandaleyes waterproof kohl kajal in ‘005 nude’. I originally purchased this because of the nude liner in the waterline trend and haven’t worn it in a long time since I don’t really like that look on me anymore.

Finally, I decluttered the AVON glimmerstick in ‘smoky grey’. This one absolutely had to go because it had no pigment at all on the waterline. When swatched on your hand it looks great but this shade is invisible on the waterline. Since that was the reason I got it, which was a long time ago, it was time for it to leave my collection.

After (Left: kept, Right: decluttered):

Mascaras:

Also in this category I am starting with 8 items. Unintentionally I swear. I have a lash primer, full size and mini products in my collection, and I really need to declutter this category because mascaras go bad fast.

Before:

img_0444

I have two of the Benefit They’re Real mascaras, one full size and one sample.I don’t like the way the sample applies. I haven’t with any of these I have used, so it was an easy choice to declutter the sample and keep the full size Benefit gave me.

The other Benefit mascara I own is the Roller Lash. There is no way this is leaving my collection as it is my holy grail mascara. It just gives such amazing length and curl to your lashes, unlike anything else I have tried.

Two of the minis that I have are by Smashbox and these are the photofinish lash primer and full exposure mascara.The mascara really did nothing for my lashes. The brush type is horrible and it can’t be used on the lower lashes unless you want it everywhere. For a high end mascara I expected better, so this is going to be decluttered. Where as the lash primer is staying put as it really separates and lengthens the lashes, you do have to add a mascara on top but the product is white but when you do your lashes look incredible.

Final high end mascara is the Too Faced Better than Sex mini in the limited edition purple shade. This came in the NikkieTutorials collaboration and I love this on my lower lashes with a smokey mauve eye makeup look.

The last two mascaras are both drugstore priced. The one that I am keeping is the Rimmel Volume Colourist mascara. This really does tint your lashes as it claims to and gives your lashes a really long yet natural look. My only comment is that it can be a little scratchy against the lash line. I am decluttering the AVON True Colour Wide Awake mascara because it was too natural looking on my lashes, the wand is quite odd as it is a loose two part spiral shape and the formula is completely non waterproof. Trust me you don’t want to cry whilst wearing this, you end up with black smudges and chunks down your face.

After (Left: kept, Right: decluttered):

These will all be included in my empties total as most of them are old products anyway. This brings the total up to 24 items at a retail price of £103.72.

That is it for this post I hope you guys enjoyed it. I feel a lot better when I look at my eyeliners and mascaras now as I know that these are all products I enjoy using and can rely on.If this post has gotten you in the decluttering mood don’t worry, another more random product declutter post will be going up after this soon.

Be sure to follow my blog, like this post and follow my Instagram at ‘teenbeautylife’.

Until the next time,

Lauren x

 

 

One thought on “Eyeliner and Mascara declutter

Leave a Reply

