Products purchased in January

Hey everyone,

Recently, whilst binging on YouTube beauty videos, I was thinking about how I love beauty haul videos/blog posts and wondered why I never put any on my site. Then I remembered… I purchase a lot of products and usually in small quantities, so I would be creating tonnes of small individual posts.

Since I love seeing massive hauls, I have decided that each month I will show you guys every beauty, skincare and hair product I bought and for the ones I have tried I will add mini reviews.

All these categories apart from beauty products only have a few items in each. Also, this isn’t all of the products that I purchased in the month of January. I just can’t remember some of the items as Christmas and January sales merge together in my memory. Probably my brain trying to make me feel less guilty.

Hair products:

I only have two this month to share, one was a repurchase and the other was a new discovery. The product I repurchased was the Toni & Guy Cleanse dry shampoo and this time I got the 250ml bottle. Before in my empties post I mentioned that this was my favourite dry shampoo. It adds volume, smells fresh and absorbs oil so I had to pick up another one.

The second hair product I bought is the L’Oreal Elvive Colour Protect Low Shampoo 400ml. This was in Fleur de Force’s New in Beauty January video and I was intrigued by it. Basically, a low shampoo is for cleansing your hair and you use it every so often in place of both your shampoo and conditioner. This one is for dry and coloured hair. There is another one that is based off of the extraordinary oil range. So far I have been liking it but it is early days.

img_0335

Brushes:

I also purchased two brushes in January from BeautyBay: one was the Morphe G42 and the other was the Sigma F80.

The Morphe G42 is a flat contour brush that is densely packed but really soft. You can use this to apply a contour shade in the hollows of your cheeks very precisely and if you use the very edge of the brush you can contour your nose as well. Another common use for this type of brush is to clean up your contour by baking underneath it, and Jaclyn Hill uses this form of brush to apply powder to the sides of her eyes to allow herself to create sharp winged eyeshadow look when she brushes the powder away.

Everyone in the beauty community has heard of the Sigma F80 flat kabuki brush. This is amazing for apply foundation as it gives a seamless flawless finish. I would highly recommend this. The only thing I don’t like about it is that it looks dirty after one use so I am constantly washing it.

Skincare:

Good things seem to be coming in twos in this post. I swear I didn’t realise this until I started to write this. Both of the products are from L’oreal and the first one is the Fine flowers gel-cream wash. I haven’t actually tried this yet because I am finishing up a few cleansers but what sucked me into buying this, other than sale on L’oreal skincare, was that it says on the bottle it is for dry and sensitive skin, contains no soap or alcohol and it contains rose & jasmine. The packaging is really pretty as well so I am excited to try that.

The second item is a product that has been raved about on YouTube, it is the L’Oreal Pure Clay Detox Mask. Although, I have dry skin I am acne and blackhead prone so I am obsessed with charcoal/mud masks. The jar itself is very heavy which I like because it reminds me of luxury skincare brands. I have used this a few times and I am hooked. It doesn’t dry out my skin but leaves it really smooth once I completed my skin care routine. When the mask is on it really drys hard so its difficult to move your face and the product enters your pores so you can see all the impurities being drawn out. Half of me thinks it looks really gross and the other half finds it really satisfying.

img_0348

Beauty products:

Maybelline ~ I got the matte and poreless foundation after all this time because finally Maybelline released two lighter shades. I purchased the lightest one in the shade 100 warm ivory. This costs £5.99 normally but I got it with the next product I am going to mention in an offer which means I only paid £9.99 for both!

Master Strobing liquid highlighter in light/iridescent is something I have admired on YouTube for a long time and we finally got it in the UK. This is a pinky icy shade and it looks stunning on light skin tones. There are two other shades available in the states and one other available in the UK.

Finally, I bought the colorsensational matte lipstick in 983 Beige Babe after I saw MannyMua obsessing over it at a Maybelline event. The amount of products this month I have bought because of him is insane. It such a beautiful light nude shade and the formula is so super creamy, that I am going to go out and purchase more shades.

img_0364

Jouer cosmetics ~ When it comes to this brand, if you live in the UK the best way to purchase products from it is on Cult Beauty. I bought two lip cremes to add to the two I already own, the shades I purchased were buff and dulce de leche. I love the formula of these lip cremes, they are smooth, pigmented, have a beautiful shade range and aren’t drying on the lips. I will definitely be picking more up in the future.

The other item I bought was the powder highlighter in Ice. I knew I wanted to buy this the minute I saw it on NikkieTutorials Snapchat. The shade name suits it well, its highly pigmented and buttery and the packaging is beautiful. I wish they would make this in a full size.

img_0375

KIKO ~During their January sale I picked up one of the smart colour eyeshadows in the shade 13. I believe I paid no more than £3 for it. It is a beautiful light peach shade, that was a purchase inspired by the launch of the Kylie Royal Peach palette. I had been obsessing over the peach shades in that palette but didn’t love the other shades enough to purchase it. This shade, although it is a little powdery and patchy when you swatch it, was the perfect alternative and it blends really nicely.

The other two products I got were the infinity high pigmented eyeshadows in  202 and 236. I hate the packaging of these because the lid can pop off of them so easily, but I think these were less than £2 each in the sale so you get what you pay for. However, the shadows themselves are beautifully soft and pigmented. 202 is a gorgeous champagne shade that I have used for highlight and 236 is a shimmering taupy bronze. I use both of these all over my lid and originally purchased them for a no brainer shadow to throw on for work, but I use them all the time now.

img_0351

Gerard Cosmetics ~ I purchased these products because of the sale on the BeautyBay website, it is still on so go and check it out.

Supreme lip cream in Wild berry tart: This is such a beautiful berry shade and even the lip product itself has a sweet berry scent. It has a really smooth texture, applies evenly and I will definitely be picking up more shades from the range.

Hydra matte liquid lipsticks in Skinny Dip and Mile High: These two shades are quite similar but mile high is a little darker. I enjoy this formula and I got these two for a little over £8 each which is amazing.

img_0355

Other brands:

NYX loose banana powder: I wanted to brighten up my under eye area with this powder. However, I think it is a little too yellow for my skin tone. I have only used it twice so I will continue to use it before making a final decision on it.

This was a MannyMua inspired purchase. Since he raves about the Smashbox 24 hour photo finish shadow primer constantly, I had to try it out. All of my purchases inspired by MannyMua have resulted in owning products that I love so I look forward to using this.

img_0386

I got the Makeup Geek eyeshadow in ‘pocket change’ because I am trying to build a dupe palette for the Kylie Bronze palette (I am having a little difficulty). However, if I do complete building that palette I will do a post on it.

BeautyBay recently started stocking Jeffree Star products including the originally limited edition highlighter in ‘Princess Cut’. This is an absolutely beautiful icy highlighter with a hint of pink and is blinding on the cheeks.

Milani launched the prime perfection face primer, which is supposed to be hydrating and pore minimising and is oil free. Those two claims in a primer don’t usually mix but I am really enjoying this one! It hydrates the skin but still minimises pores well. Not as much as the Porefessional by Benefit but that one dries out my skin, so its a comprise. So if you have dry skin but need a pore minimising primer, definitely check this out cause its only £10.00.

Bourjois rouge edition velvet in the shade 10 ‘Don’t pink of it!’ This was a completely random purchase and I haven’t trialled the formula yet. It is a perfect everyday mid toned pink shade though.

img_0395

That was the final product that I purchased in the month of January. I know that this is a lot of makeup to accumulate, especially in a one month period, but this is what I love. Please let me know in the comment section if you want more in depth reviews of any of these products.

Until the next time,

Lauren

 

One thought on “Products purchased in January

Leave a Reply

