Kylie Cosmetics Review Part 1 (Glosses)

Hey everyone,

Yes it is finally happening. I am going to be reviewing one of the most controversial brands/ topics in the makeup community. I have shied away from doing posts about this brand until now because of how strongly people feel about it. However, I feel it is important for people to be able to post their views without fear of backlash in the comments. This Part 1 of this series where I will be talking about the lip glosses. Part 2 will be the lip kits and part 3 will be one of the eyeshadow palettes, so stay tuned for them.

I wanted to give you all a different perspective on these products as I am in my late teens which is her target market and I live in the UK so it costs me a lot more to obtain them. In part 3 I will also be talking about tips for ordering on the website to make sure you get all the products you want before they sell out.

Pricing, shipping and customs:

Each of the glosses in this brand retails for $15.00, now this isn’t what you pay for it when you live in the UK. With the current exchange rate you are looking at paying around £12.31 and this is a nice price point that is between drugstore and highend. Plus a currency conversion charge of £1.25 which is standard and will be deducted from your card but not seen at the checkout.

Shipping from Kylie Cosmetics is $14.95 which you might think is very expensive (at around £12.26). I have found that this charge for shipping to the UK from the US is pretty reasonable, between Jeffree Star at $10.95 (£8.98 ) and Colourpop at $25.00 (£20.51).

It doesn’t stop there though because you still have to pay VAT and a customs fee that isn’t added on at the checkout. You will pay VAT at 20% and a post office handling fee of £8.00 before you can obtain your package. The VAT I understand as you have to pay this in the UK anyway, except it is added onto the items original price. However I hate paying the post office handling fee, especially when it is more than the VAT you have to pay on the item. I seriously think that the policy relating to customs fees needs to change because it is so expensive and disinterests people from doing trade with other countries. Tip: to get more out of your post office handling fee do larger orders rather than smaller more frequent orders because you will pay the same amount of VAT but less shipping and less handling fees.

Packaging:

The lip glosses are in the typical plastic tube shape and they are clear with black writing/detailing on them. I really like the design of these because not only do they look and feel quite expensive, the drips from the neck of the tube and the Kylie signature below is such a unique design concept that is now so highly recognised.

img_4185

The wand on this lip gloss is what sparked the original outrage but I received one from the batch after they were fixed. The wand is a short brush applicator and I personally prefer doe foot applicators for precision reasons, but this is definitely my favourite brush applicator that I have ever used. It didn’t fray and allowed a nice amount of precision. Fraying is my biggest hate with lip gloss applicators and that is generally why I stick with doe foot ones, so I am glad this one didn’t.

img_4187

Product:

I own two of the glosses, one from the original launch and one from the launch based on the liquid lipstick shades. I was sceptical about purchasing this particular product after the incident with the wands; if you don’t know about that where have you been. Considering, I think she dealt with it well by replacing everyone’s products. I am not going to mention it in any more detail because there are plenty of videos about it on YouTube.

The first shade I purchased was “So cute” which is from the original three shade launch and the lightest colour gloss she makes. That launch was three nude shades, ranging from light to medium to dark. The medium shade is named “Literally” and the darkest one is named “Like”.

The second gloss I own is “Koko K” and this was part of a four shade launch to accompany some of the liquid lipsticks. The other shades from that launch are named “Candy K”, “Posie K” and “Exposed”. I was planning on purchasing the Koko K lip kit in the same order as another gloss so it made sense for it to be the matching one.

The gloss has a very sweet scent which I love, it smells sweeter than MAC lipsticks (they have a vanilla cupcake scent) and it smells slightly less like cake and more like sweets. Sorry I am so bad at describing scents but I think that is pretty accurate.

Both glosses have the same formula which is very smooth and completely none sticky. Now my preference when it comes to lip gloss is for it to be pigmented enough to be worn alone as I don’t like to put one over a regular lipstick generally. These glosses are really pigmented so they are perfect for me and I wear them alone all the time. If you are someone that likes their lip gloss to be sheer, this isn’t the product for you. Obviously, you can still use these on top of other lip products but it isn’t going to give you a wash of colour effect.

The glosses contain 2.60ml of product which is such a low amount compared to a NYX butter gloss that has 8ml and a KIKO 3D Hydra lip gloss that has 6.5ml. I feel as though the size of this product is deceiving as to how much it contains. I didn’t even realise how little product this contains until I went to write this post.

Swatches:

So Cute is a very pale nude gloss and Koko K is a light pinky mauve gloss.

img_4198

Verdict:

I really like these lip glosses as they have a great amount of pigmentation, have super cute packaging and have a great shade range. The other colours I want to get my hands on are Posie K, Candy K and Like. The other two just wouldn’t suit my skin tone at all. However, I wish that you got more product for your money as it does contain a lot less than your average gloss.

That is it for my Kylie Cosmetics review part 1 on the lip glosses I hope you guys enjoyed it. Let me know your thoughts on how I did the in depth product review because I haven’t done one before and of course if there are any specific products you want a review on as well.

Leave a Reply

