First Impressions – Hourglass vanish foundation stick

Hey everyone,

I have never done a post like this before but I just woke up this morning so inspired to write a blog post. This first impressions is going to be on the oh so well known Hourglass vanish foundation stick. I have never owned a foundation stick before or a product from Hourglass, shockingly. The brand is so hyped about on YouTube I am surprised I haven’t made a purchase sooner. Just a quick mention to the fact I have dry skin with combination skin in the T-zone and since everyone has different skin types and skin tones, your experience with this product might be different to mine.

Packaging:

It comes in a rectangular box with the classic Hourglass reflective bronze colour and gold writing. The foundation stick itself is a triangular shape and follows the same colour scheme as the box. To dispense the product you take off the cap, twist up the product and apply to your face. The foundation is also in triangular form when you twist it up and the packaging feels quite heavy and luxurious which you would expect from the brand.

Product and Price:

This product contains .25 oz / 7.2g which is a really small amount compared to liquid foundation which contain an average of 1 oz / 30ml. However, stick foundations always have less product than liquid foundations because they are more pigmented. I bought this product from Space NK and it cost me £42.00, making it the most expensive foundation I own. I have the shade Blanc and this is the lightest shade available. Shout out to all my pale girls. Hourglass has a really great shade range in this foundation, with a total of 26 shades, making it so much easier to find your perfect shade.

Application:

I applied half my face with my M444 by Morphe Brushes and the other half with my beauty blender. I used the NYX Angel Veil primer for those of you who are interested. I preferred using the brush whilst applying this product more than the beauty blender because it blended it a lot easier. However, I prefer to use my beauty blender underneath my eyes and on my nose for precision reasons. Then I added a little concealer underneath my eyes and set it lightly with a powder.

img_4167

Verdict:

I really like this foundation; the colour, the packaging and the flawless finish is incredible. Obviously this is my first impressions so I will need to continue to use it to test the wear etc but so far I am so impressed with this product. Do I think it is worth the £42.00 price tag? Yes, especially if you find it hard to get your exact shade like I do. The product just glides on and you can build it up. It is definitely full coverage though so you don’t need a lot to do your whole face.

That completes this first impressions, I hope you guys enjoyed it. Let me know if I should do more first impressions/reviews on my blog in the comments section below. Please click the follow and like button and I can’t wait for you to see my next post, which will be my October empties!

 

2 thoughts on “First Impressions – Hourglass vanish foundation stick

Leave a Reply

