How to press loose pigments

Hey everyone, I had a lot of interest in my Instagram posts about pressing my loose MAC pigments and putting them into my Zebra Z palette. So I decided to dedicate a post to it, to show you guys how to do this yourselves.


The items you will need are:

  1. A loose pigment
  2. A container to mix in
  3. A spoon
  4. Rubbing alcohol
  5. A dropper
  6. Z palette
  7. Two metal pans
  8. Two ten pence pieces
  9. Kitchen towel 

Firstly, take your pigment and empty it all into the container. Then, take some of the rubbing alcohol into the dropper (I use the Nurofen one but I use this one purely for D.I.Y purposes and same with the spoon.) Then add it slowly to the pigment until it is combined. To be honest I added a bit too much in the photo below but it came out okay.

Once combined, scoop it into the two eyeshadow pans and press the pigment flat into the pan.


Finally, place the kitchen towel over the two pans and put the two ten pence pieces on top. Put a weight on top of that so as the kitchen towel can absorb the excess alcohol. Leave it to dry for 24 hours and then it can put into a Z palette and applied.


So there you go, all you need to know about how to press your loose pigments. Please bare in mind that this doesn’t work for glitters. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

