Urban Decay Naked Skin one & done hybrid complexion perfector

Hey everyone,

So in my last blog post I mentioned that this was one of the products for Urban Decay that I was trialling to see whether it would support my love hate relationship with the brand. If you haven’t checked out that post, please go ahead before I get into this one. Also, please follow my blog and my Instagram which is linked on it.

Claims from the brand:

  • Optical blurring
  • Luminous finish
  • Paraben free
  • SPF 20
  • Immediate improvement in the look of skin tone that lasts for up to 8 hours
  • Significant improvement in radiance after 12 weeks of use
  • Significantly firmer-feeling skin after 12 weeks of use
  • Visibly smaller looking pores after 8 weeks of use

As you can see this product promises big things, basically everything you could wish for. Therefore, I was so excited to try this product with its promises of smaller pores, SPF, a luminous finish and long lasting coverage. The next aspect of the product that caught my eye was…

Packaging:

The packaging for this product is beautiful. It is a metallic finish bronze to a grey silver ombre tube with a pump to dispense the product. The cap on the pump is silver and has the Urban Decay logo on the bottom of it. With the writing on the tube being silver and white, the entire product looks very sleek and the colour scheme works well together. Overall, I cannot fault the packaging. I love the fact it has a pump as it makes it really easy to dispense onto the back of my hand.

Performance of product:

I haven’t been using the product long enough to assess it against the long term claims. However, I have formed my opinions on three of the claims mentioned above. Optical blurring, luminous finish and immediate improvement in the look of skin tone that lasts for up to 8 hours. This product gives a lovely luminous finish on the skin and provides a good amount of coverage expected for this type of product. I really like the way that it blends so seamless. Also, the ingredients in it are aimed to make it more hydrating so it works well with my dry skin. BUT…

I had been really liking this product until this morning. I purchased the shade light (this is the lightest shade available) and this had been working for me great. Until this morning when it decided to turn bright orange on me. Has this happened to anyone else?? Unfortunately my luck gets worse. Today is the last day to return the product and I cannot get to a House of Fraser today, so I am stuck with it. It doesn’t last 8 hours on my skin either, as my break outs and pores start to show through about 4 hours in even with primer. Anyone own this and have suggestions about the best way to set it??

Price:

This product was £25.00 for 40ml and I purchased it from House of Fraser on Oxford Street. As it is part of the Summer Collection stores are getting it in and out of stock all the time.

Overall opinion:

I really like the finish and coverage of this product but it doesn’t last on my skin very well and the colour has just become so orange. I am going to try make this work with my Body Shop lightening drops and attempt to find a better way to set it. Currently, this is in the category for hate of my love hate relationship post along with the Naked 3 palette and Nirvana make your own palette. If I can find a way to make it work in the aspects mentioned then it might be moved to an okay category.

 

One thought on “Urban Decay Naked Skin one & done hybrid complexion perfector

Leave a Reply

